UK law is changing. We would like to place cookies on your computer to help us make this website better. We've always done this (it's how websites work!), but the law now says I must ask your permission first. To find out more about the cookies, see the privacy notice.

I accept cookies from this site

UK Registered Charity 1117093
Company Number 5947088

Dina Asher-Smith, sportswoman of the year

"Winning isn't everything; it's the only thing."

Vince Lombardi

SJA 2018

Stuart attended the 2018 British Sports Awards where three athletes were among the prize winners.

Dina Asher-Smith, David Hemery and Christine Ohuruogu

Dina Asher-Smith is the SJA British Sports Awards sportswoman of the year. Cyclist Geraint Thomas was the members’ choice for sportsman while England’s triumphant netball team were voted sports team of 2018.

England netball team

The British Sports Awards were first staged in 1949. The winners of the three main awards are chosen through a ballot of the Association’s 750 memberships which includes many of the country’s leading sports writers, photographers and broadcasters.

Around 300 celebrity guests from sport, politics and the media were at the Pavilion at the Tower of London to acknowledge another amazing year of sporting achievement.

The Spirit of Sport Award went to Christine Ohuruogo who, after winning a silver medal in London 2012, promised to visit every school in her home borough to talk to youngsters, show her medals and prove that, like her, they can aim high. The 2013 SJA sportswoman of the year did just that. Patrick Collins presented his President’s Award to Mexico 1968 gold medallist David Hemery.

David Hemery, 1968 400H Olympic gold medallist


All the prizewinners.

Sportsman of the Year
1. Geraint Thomas
2. Anthony Joshua
3. Lewis Hamilton
Sportswoman of the Year

1. Dina Asher-Smith
2. Lizzy Yarnold
3. Georgia Hall

Sports Team of the Year
1. England netball team
2. Europe Ryder up team
3. England men’s football team

The National Lottery Spirit of Sport Award: Christine Ohuruogo SJA President’s Award: David Hemery
JL Manning Award for an outstanding contribution to sport: Steve Williams
SJA Bill McGowran Trophy for achievement in para sport: Menna Fitzpatrick and guide Jennifer Kehoe and Great Britain’s men’s wheelchair basketball team
SJA Peter Wilson Trophy for international newcomer: Sam Curran
SJA Chairman’s Award: Lewis Hamilton
SJA Pat Besford Award for outstanding performance of the year: Lizzy Yarnold.

Lizzie Yarnold

Photos: Steve Rowe Photography

Weekly sports email

Leave your email address if you wish to receive Stuart's weekly sports email: